….I Was Pale and Lean

What you need to know about PCOS

Written by Nneka Okafor

A lady feeling pale and weak

My experience

I got my first period at age 15. It was a thing of joy for my family but something was off. Usually, some women experience little to no cramping during their first periods. My case was different. I had severe cramping and I bled. The flow was quite frightening and the blood clot were much. So, we said; anyways it’s just the first time and it will normalise. This was in the month of January. It lasted beyond seven days, I was pale and lean.
February came and passed and so did March without me getting my period, my mother said it’s normal. Said my body will adjust with time, it will stop skipping.

A lady holding her Tommy due to menstral pain


It finally came in April with the same heaviness and much more cramping. That was the beginning of my troubles. How often again, did you say you change pads or tampons? An hour or two? Wow! Girl, you are so blessed! I changed the pad every 10 to 15 minutes. It was that bad. I got stained easily and so I started skipping school on days I got my period. When I dared to go with it, I barely concentrate in class as I am always in the restroom. Most times when I stand, up to walk, I feel something pushing against my pelvic wall, making me unable to move my leg. I had to stand at a spot and wait until it was relieved. I was always on drugs as the pain was much. It’s more of a family meeting whenever I am menstruating. Everyone at home has to be present including my father as they were afraid I might die.

2018 March, I went to the hospital, explained and showed the doctor pictures of the blood clot, she was shocked at how big they were. I literally shake whenever it is coming out and when it does, my pad is due to be changed or I get stained.

A pelvic scan was done and it was confirmed there are tiny growth around my ovaries, my precious ovaries. These are follicles filled with blood and they burst open whenever an egg is released. So he said I had always bled during periods. I was given drugs to shrink the growth around my ovaries and, for two months, I had normal flow without much cramps. I was to do a hormonal blood test to know what went wrong.

A quick one, I felt irritated when a man tries to play funny, get what I mean? I know you do. Like, I don’t feel anything. That is one of the effects.

2018 August, I was diagnosed with ulcer. It turned out the NSAIDS I take to stop cramping and control bleeding have corroded my stomach lining and I have wounds. I noticed I started adding weight, slow metabolism and indigestion. Slow metabolism is caused by PCOS.

So, What is PCOS?
PCOS according to the Mayo Clinic is a hormonal disorder that is common in women of reproductive age. It is often as a result of an imbalance in hormones. Women with this disorder tend to have the male hormone, Androgen, in excess.

Signs and symptoms:
Irregular periods: prolonged or Irregular periods are one of the signs of PCOS. So if you miss your periods often like 2, 3 or 4 months at a stretch, and you are not pregnant, please see a doctor.
Polycystic ovaries: poly here means multiple. Cysts are like sacs. The ovaries might be enlarged and contain follicles that surround the eggs.
Excess Androgen: this may result in signs such as excess facial and body hair (hirsutism) as well as severe acne (for some persons).

The cause of PCOS is still not known but factors such as genetics, and excess androgen, amongst other factors play a role.

Effects:
Possible effects of PCOS include:
1. Miscarriage or premature birth
2. Infertility
3. Slow metabolism
4. Finding it hard to shed excess weight/going weight.
5. Abdominal uterine bleeding
6. Little to no arousal or sexual desire, etc.

Do you have PCOS? Can you share your experiences with us? I would be honoured to hear from you.

Leave a comment

5 responses to “….I Was Pale and Lean”

    1. Thank you.

      Like

  1. Eyiowuawi Oluwaseun avatar
    Eyiowuawi Oluwaseun

    Great article

    Like

  2. Babatunde Marvellous avatar
    Babatunde Marvellous

    This article has helped to understand what healthy living is, and the way to live healthy and live right.

    Like

  3. It’ѕ very trouble-free to find out any matter on web as compared to books, as I found this post at this web site.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started